Bike Helmets for Cochlear Implant?

bike helmetAn “in-your-face” reminder that she is deaf…………………

Yesterday afternoon, my 5 year old daughter fell off her bike and scratched her face up terribly. (I’ll spare you the agony of having to see the damage. )

Thankfully, she didn’t hurt herself too badly. However, it did serve to remind us that she is a deaf child. You see, the advances she has made using her cochlear implant make us forget sometimes that she is deaf. But moments like these make us stop for a second and realize that she really is deaf, and it is amazing how well she does.

How??

Because when we scolded her for not wearing a helmet, she cried, “I don’t like my helmet ’cause it always knocks my implants off!!” She ended up falling and getting hurt because she doesn’t like the helmet.

So I guess our next job is to produce a “Hearing Pocket” Bicycle Helmet that won’t knock the coils off the head. But just how do we go about manufacturing such a product? Would there be enough of a market for them?

8 Comments »

  1. zfor said

    Hi,
    We had a similar problem, but I think the solution is pretty simple. Most of the helmets are made of Styrofoam or some similar plastic. These have the tendency to shrink when exposed to heat.
    So simply buy a cheap helmet that almost fits, then take a candle and carve out the places for the coil using the flame of the candle. Careful, the plastic foam shrinks really quickly!
    Good luck,
    zfor from Germany

  2. Lynda said

    Everyone’s head is differently-shaped and every implant is in a different spot. The helmet that worked for my son when he had a single implant began to knock the coil off his other ear implant after he went bilateral. We had to go shopping for a new helmet. So unless you are prepared to make custom helmets for everybody, I am not sure there would be a market.

    These days many helmets come with an adjustable tightener in the back, so fitting them for a cochlear implant user is easier (and the child can loosen it before putting it on and then tighten it up.) Find a bike shop with good customer service and they should be able to help you and your child find a helmet that fits well without modification.

  3. Melissa said

    I am having the same problem but my child is 2 with bilaterial implants. She sits in a seat behind me. I found a website about a man that has implants and was riding in a bike ride in Ohio. He got a headband called coolmax headsweat. He then put a bikers bandanna on. He said that it worked great. The web site is http://www.hot-tamale.org/ci/index_ocean.htm . I hope this helps and good luck.

  4. Cathy Yerks said

    My grandson is 4 years old, deaf and legally blind. He is going to have a ear implant soon. His mother is looking for a protective helmet he can not take off himself to protect the coil. Do you have any suggestions?
    She lives in Mississippi.

  5. My son, age 3 1/2 wears a helmet that has oval shaped hoes on it so when he puts it on his head his magnet does not fall off as there is a small hole there. It is called “Giro flume” and we got it at a high end bike store. It was about $45. He loves it.

  6. K.A.EARLY said

    I would buy one in a minute for my 7 yr. old dare devil. Please email me with info if anyone has an idea of where to get such a product. kimber924@msn.com

  7. Samantha George said

    I use a sweatband then a thin towel before i put my helmet on, it helps to not have the implants magnet fall off! 🙂 Hope that can help you!

    Samantha George- Age 13

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

